National Water Grid Advisory Body

The Australian Government established the National Water Grid Advisory Body, to provide independent expert advice to the Government on water infrastructure policies, projects and investment priorities that will help deliver the National Water Grid.

The Advisory Body will support the work of the Authority in delivering greater water security and resilience.

The National Water Grid Advisory Body will provide valuable and informed views on a range of water infrastructure issues to inform government decisions.

Advisory Body members

Chair – Christopher Lynch

Chris LynchChris is a leading Global Senior Executive having worked across six continents, with experience as an Executive Director and Chief Financial Officer in the two largest mineral resource companies, BHP and Rio Tinto and over four years as Chief Executive Officer of Transurban. With a wealth of experience in the private sector, Chris has a significant understanding of large scale, complex infrastructure project construction.

Member – Dr Cathy Foley

Dr Cathy FoleyDr Foley has built a distinguished career as a world scientist and leader. She is an advocate for the communication of science, science education and women in science. As CSIRO’s Chief Scientist she is at the forefront of CSIRO’s work to use science to solve real issues to unlock a better future for Australia.

Member – Jim Grayson

Jim GraysonA former Chief Executive Officer of the Gladstone Area Water Board, Jim was responsible for overseeing the Awoonga Dam along with a network of delivery pipelines, water treatment plants and other bulk water distribution infrastructure in Central Queensland. Jim has extensive experience in the delivery of critical services, including the development, operation and maintenance of water infrastructure projects. 

Member – Roseanne Healy

Roseanne HealyRoseanne is an economics professional with extensive experience in diverse sectors including agriculture, aquaculture, food and wine, technology and infrastructure. She has over 20-years of corporate advisory experience and expertise in due diligence and corporate governance, strategy and investment analysis. 

Member – Stuart Khan

Stuart KhanDr Khan is Professor in the School of Civil and Environmental Engineering at the University of New South Wales. His work has a particular emphasis on water recycling applications, and improving the understanding of water treatment capabilities, water quality monitoring and risk management. He is a widely published author, including contributions to several books on wastewater treatment, reuse and recycling.

Member – Sue Middleton

Sue MiddletonSue and her husband Michael manage a diversified farm in the Wheatbelt of Western Australia growing grains, oaten hay, pork, and citrus. Sue has wide reaching and deep change management experience across agricultural business, commodity groups and sectors, and regional and rural communities. She is passionate about rural and regional Australia and has been actively involved in many leadership roles across industry, agriculture and rural community development.

Member – Peter Ryan

Peter RyanPeter is a former Deputy Premier of Victoria, leader of the Nationals in Victoria, Minister for Rural and Regional Development and Minister for Police and Emergency Services. He had a distinguished political career across 23 years in the Victorian Parliament and has been a strong voice for rural and regional development. He has extensive experience in state-level infrastructure development and bringing stakeholders together to drive and build strategic initiatives.

Member – Elizabeth Stott

Elizabeth StottElizabeth is a public relations professional with qualifications in science and leadership. She has a diverse background across a range of agriculture and water related industries including with the Murray Darling Basin Authority. Liz has also been a partner in a family owned and run irrigation farming business for over 10 years, primarily producing cotton and winter cereals. She is a strong and passionate advocate for rural issues.